Top 10 Ticket Selling Events for the Week of January 20th

What it is? It’s Tuesday, and that means it’s time for a recap of last week’s top ticket selling events across this fine nation of ours (obviously, I’m from the U.S.). If you’re planning an outing with your friends, family, or business acquaintances that you’re trying to impress but have no idea what you should buy tickets for, then I’m here to help you out. I’ll let you know what’s popular so that those people you’re trying to impress won’t know that you’re not cool. Don’t worry, your secret is safe with me.

Katy Perry

Holy crap! Katy Perry is destroying ticket sales right now! She recently announced tour dates for her Prismatic Tour set to begin in June of this year. Tickets went on sale on the 23rd and are going like hotcakes! (In a world where hotcakes are some kind of valuable commodity) So far, she only has North American tour dates listed on her website, but I’m sure she’ll add some European shows for late this year/early next year. If she does, then I called it and I’m the greatest. Check her website to see which accompanying act will be in a city near you, then head over to Wembli and snatch up those tickets before they sell out.

photo credit: muchmusic.com

photo credit: muchmusic.com

Billy Joel

The Piano Man is still racking up those ticket sales. He recently announced a string of tour dates in the U.S. and he is also keeping up a monthly residency at Madison Square Garden. So if you’re on the east coast, or planning to be, you might be able to catch a show. If you’re into that sort of thing.

photo credit: ultimateclassicrock.com

photo credit: ultimateclassicrock.com

Jason Aldean

He’s a country singer? Or something? I don’t know, Google him.

photo credit: q104kc.com

photo credit: q104kc.com

Tool

OMFG, this is the most excited I’ve been to write about anything. Tool is easily one of the most talented rock bands that has ever blasted my ear holes with music. When it comes to live shows, it doesn’t get much better than Tool. Also, I pretty much have a man crush on lead singer Maynard James Keenan. Unfortunately, the band only has a couple west coast shows lined up (and none of them in SoCal), but good news is there’s rumor they’re planning to release a new album soon. So more shows in the future, maybe?

photo credit: flickr.com

photo credit: flickr.com

Shania Twain

So I know I’m always the first one to talk smack about country music and how much it sucks, but I’ve been in love with Shania Twain since I was like seven. I have no ill words to speak of her. Apparently, she’s just got the one show is some Canadian city planned at the moment, but the rumor mill says she’s planning a new album. And a new album means a tour. So keep your ears open for that one, and when it happens, I called it and I’m the greatest.

photocredit: live2013.com

photocredit: live2013.com

Book of Mormon

I have to admit, I’ve always been on the fence about musicals. I love old timey Gene Kelley joints, but stuff like Rent or Les Miserables just doesn’t seem to appeal to me. That being said, I’m starting to get real curious about Trey Parker and Matt Stone’s musical, Book of Mormon. I’m guessing that for the musical-wary patron, such as myself, an irreverent religious romp is exactly the thing to ease oneself into the world of musical theatre. Based on the original music that has been in other projects of theirs, one can only assume that this one’s going to push the limits of what’s acceptable. Whether it’s actually entertaining, or pure shock value that keeps it on this list week after week, you can’t argue with the numbers, and either way, it’s selling a crap-ton of tickets.

photo credit: theaterpimp.com

photo credit: theaterpimp.com

Wicked

Hey! Do you like The Wizard of Oz? Have you ever watched the Wizard of Oz and been like “I wonder what the witches were like in the years prior to Dorothy’s arrival in Oz”? Have you ever wanted to know the answer to that question only if it was a story told in song? Well then shoot, son, you need to stop screwing around and get some tickets to Wicked! Apparently it’s everything you’ve ever wanted (assuming that everything you’ve ever wanted was a musical version of the lives of the witches of Oz prior to Dorothy’s arrival there…and a little bit after). Shut up and go but a ticket!

photo credit: theatreguide.co.uk

photo credit: theatreguide.co.uk

The Lion King

There’s a reason why this is one of the longest running shows on Broadway, and why it is constantly on this list (assuming that the whole nation isn’t purposely conspiring to bore me to death. Yeah I’m delusional! Wanna fight about it?). That reason is, most likely, because it’s based off one of Disney’s most successful movies. I mean who doesn’t like The Lion King? Terrorists, that’s who! Also, it’s just incredibly well done. It’s got creative costumes and sets, high production value, and all your favorite songs from the movie. Shoot, I kinda wanna watch The Lion King now.

photo credit: hollywoodreporter.com

photo credit: hollywoodreporter.com

Kinky Boots

Kinky Boots, the musical, is based on Kinky Boots, the 2005 film about a man who starts making footwear for drag queens in a desperate attempt to save his family’s struggling shoe business. The musical features an original soundtrack by 80’s superstar Cyndi Lauper, and while the production itself has garnered mixed reviews from theatre critics, the score has received critical acclaim.

photo credit: nytimes.com

photo credit: nytimes.com

Jersey Boys

Rounding up our list is a (finally) original musical. Jersey Boys is the story of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons: their rise to fame, their struggles, their pitfalls, how they overcame or didn’t, and how they eventually (spoiler alert) call it quits.

photo credit: best-posts.com

photo credit: best-posts.com

Leave a comment